Lazy Sunday

Sunday, 15 June 2008

I have lost my voice, which some might say is a good thing. As part of being afflicted with hay fever this week I got a sore throat and by yesterday I was literally speechless.

So, I didn’t want to risk a ramble today (it would have been from Dungeon Ghyll at the head of Langdale to Seatoller at the head of Borrowdale by way of Mickleden, the fairly steep Stake Pass, and the Stonethwaite valley.) My breathing isn’t affected too badly this time though (touch wood – ) so I did a bit of a run as part of my programme of working my back to fitness.

I can indulge myself, I think, because yesterday I got off the first of my nine short story submissions for the 2008 Whittaker Prize and I’m allowed a day off. Although I must start thinking about it again tomorrow…

One Response to “Lazy Sunday”

  1. Jen Says:

    So what is the Whittaker prize?

    I did a quick Google and the first match which came up was the ‘Sir Edmund Whittaker Memorial Prize of the Edinburgh Mathematical Society’ – I don’t think short stories would do for that somehow … ?


Leave a Reply

