Moth

Saturday, 24 May 2008

DSCN2803

I found this chap lying on his back on Michaelson Road. I flipped him over, but although alive he didn’t seem very well at all.

I know little of moths, but perhaps some kind soul of lepidopterist bent will come along and tell me what kind it is.

It was that kind of morning; a little later and not very far away from the same spot I saw a peregrine in the sky above me, amongst the gulls but not bothering or being bothered by them. Pigeons might have been a different matter. The last I saw of it, it flew into the girders high up in the big hammerhead crane on the dockside and perched there.

2 Responses to “Moth”

  1. LyzzyBee Says:

    Oh, so Matthew looked at the pic and said it’s a privet hawk moth – I commented on your flickr but thought I would put a note here, too.

  2. pussreboots Says:

    I’m glad LyzzyBee could help identify it because I certainly couldn’t. Just wanted to say that I enjoyed looking at your photograph. I don’t think we have any as exotic looking here.


Leave a Reply

