Waterstones: An Apology

Saturday, 3 May 2008

Meanwhile, in a further development in The Case of the Bookshop that Bans Browsing, a letter arrives in this morning’s post from HMV plc.

Dear Ms Mitchell

it begins.

I was concerned to receive your letter of 24th April.

I have passed this letter to Gerry Johnson, Managing Director of Waterstones who will investigate and respond to you fully.

Meanwhile, please accept my apologies for the incident that occurred in Waterstones, Barrow in Furness.

Yours sincerely

Simon Fox
Chief Executive

I await developments. Meanwhile, it is nice that the letter at least purports to come from the CE himself, rather than an official fobber-off which is what you usually get, I find.

2 Responses to “Waterstones: An Apology”

  1. neil h Says:

    Hurrah! I think they should institute the Rosie Mitchell memorial comfy leather sofa for sitting on and browsing in your honour.

  2. tvor Says:

    I think that’s wonderful. You may not hear back but just that they took the time to write means something. I’m sure they’ll look into it. I hope you do hear back from the other bloke as well.


Leave a Reply

