In the Balance

Wednesday, 30 April 2008

My kitchen scales are knackered, so I need a replacement.

What I want is a good old fashioned set of scales and weights, driven by the immutable laws of physics and not requiring any additional input of energy

All I can find in the shops are cheap and nasty spring-driven things, whose springs can be guaranteed to fail within a year or so if my exerience is anything to go by. Alternatively there are loads of electronic balances, which are basically the same thing except that they have a low-cost LCD digital display to give the thing a bit of twenty-first century cachet and a reason for being given a higher profit margin.

With a proper pan balance, of course, you can do things you can’t do with a spring balance. The best bit is being able to weigh out the ingredients for your Victoria sponge by placing your eggs in one pan and balancing everything else against them. That way you get your proportions just right!

Anybody know where I can get one?

3 Responses to “In the Balance”

  1. neil h Says:

    Scales Express looks promising, but they’re not cheap though. Mind you, a set of cast iron weights is going to last a lot longer than a cheap plastic machine. Amazon have some as well.

  2. Liz Says:

    Have you got a Lakeland, I’m pretty sure they do them… or John Lewis do, too.

  3. enitharmon Says:

    The Lakeland is of course a bus ride away in Windermere (but if I go that way I don’t want to shop!)

    John Lewis. Hmmm, I bet they would. I miss John Lewis but the nearest one would be George Henry Lee’s in Liverpool (I used to love George Henry’s when I was little, it had such a friendly smell!)


Leave a Reply

