On the road again

Monday, 21 April 2008

It’s been six months since I did any running. A string of respiratory problems coupled with bad weather put me off, and I’ve gone horribly out of condition, as witnessed by my panting and wheezing up Pennine slopes yesterday. And it’s long past time I did something about it.

So today, with the return at last of some quite nhice weather, I donned running vest and tracky bottoms and went right back to basics. Six batches of one minute running, two minutes walking. It took me almost to the far end of the Walney bridge before turning for home. And at the end, I felt almost as wrecked as I did when I started this program nearly three years ago. But then, before six months were up I’d run a sub-60-minute 10k and two half-marathons. There’s hope for me yet!

It’s nice to have a hot shower afterwards. Right – same again on Wednesday. I expect my followers to hold me to this!

Leave a Reply

