Green’s at last!

Thursday, 17 April 2008

Pie

Since I was out in the badlands north of Rawlinson Street I took the opportunity – strictly in the interest of research of course, to visit Green’s pie shop in Jarrow Street to try one of their legendary meat and potato pies.

I have to admit to great disappointment. No, not at Green’s pies, but at having to admit that having said the best pies in Barrow were those I made myself I have truly met my nemesis.

It’s not the filling. The meat and potato filling is delightful, of course, and would be hard to better except that mine have real pieces of meat in them and this one was made with minced meat. No, the true test of a great pie is the pastry, and I am the first to admit that I’m not good at pastry. It;s my hot, passionate hands, you see.

This pastry was a little miracle. Firm enough to hold the pie together, yet thin, crisp, delicate and melting in the mouth. I don’t suppose they’ll give away their secret easily.

Of course, it’s a good sign when there a longish queue; when those in the queue are buying twenty pies at a time; when there’s a healthy advanced order book. And when, though they are rushed off their feet, the two women in charge are friendly, courteous, and leave you feeling that they have all the time in the world for you.

Leave a Reply

